The Kansas Homestead Refund Act provides a refund to Kansans who own their homes or pay rent and meet one of the following three requirements:
- You must have been 55 years of age or older on January 1.
- You must have been totally and permanently disabled or blind during the entire year, regardless of age.
- You must have had one or more dependent children residing with you the entire year, regardless of your age. At least one dependent child must have been born on or before January 1 of the tax year in question and must have been 18 years of age the entire year.
In addition, you must meet all the following requirements:
- You must have lived in Kansas for the entire year.
- Your total household income must have not been more than $31,300.
- You must have owned or rented the home you lived in or you must have lived in a nursing home where property taxes were paid during the tax year.
- You must not owe any delinquent taxes on your home, or if you are filing under the renter’s provision, the rental property must be on the tax rolls.
- Your property tax or rent must not have been paid from public funds on your behalf directly to the county treasurer or landlord for the tax year.
Who to Contact
If you meet the qualifications, you must file with the Kansas Department of Revenue Homestead Section between January 1 and April 15 in order to receive a refund. If you would like additional information, call the Kansas Department of Revenue at 785-296-0222 or contact the Geary County Clerks Office for more information